Kicking Avocado Toast Up a Notch!

Winter has finally arrived and to be honest, I really am in the dumps about it.  The beautiful leaves have fallen off of the trees and the Appalachian Mountains are starting to look dull and grey.  Because of this, I too am starting to feel a little grey.

One of the best ways to get out of a slump is to eat healthy and foods that are full of nutrients to make you feel better.  My go to food is always avocado toast.  It is something that I actually have not eaten in quite sometime and I found myself wanting it. Not wanting to go to the grocery store and wanting to be a little more inventive, I raided my kitchen and was able to throw together a perfect avocado toast that kept me full for the rest of the day.

One of the most crucial parts to making a great avocado toast is having really good bread.  Thus, I always make sure that I have some fresh locally baked bread from the bakery in addition to avocados in my house.  I was also able to find some bread cheese, an ingredient that I used in the post Playing Around With the Classics.  With these few ingredients in addition to some fresh tomatoes and garlic, this avocado toast turned into a meal worth having! Recipe is as follows.

Avocado Toast with Grilled Bread Cheese, Sautéed Tomatoes, and Balsamic Glaze

2 slices of artisanal bread, toasted

1 avocado, peeled and pitted

1 cup of cherry tomatoes, sliced in half

1 tablespoon olive oil

2 garlic cloves, crushed

4 slices of bread cheese, grilled on all sides

2 Tablespoons balsamic glaze

2 teaspoons hemp seeds

salt and pepper to taste

In a small skillet, grill the bread cheese on high until all sides are browned and crispy.  In another small skillet, heat up the olive oil over medium high heat and add garlic.  Sauté garlic until fragrant and add the tomatoes.  Reduce heat to medium low and cook until the tomatoes begin to soften and season with salt and pepper.  Meanwhile, toast your bread and smooth one half of avocado on each piece of toast.  Evenly split the bread cheese on each piece of toast and top with the sautéed tomatoes.  Then top with balsamic glaze as well as hemp seeds.  Enjoy!

Cook’s Notes: if you cannot find bread cheese, halloumi works just as well.  If both cheeses are unavailable to you, go ahead and use your favorite type of cheese like goat cheese or mozzarella!

xoxo Sarah

Leave a comment